The Sins of the Mind

The mind is the sum total of what we are.

Proverbs 23:7

for he is the kind of man who is always thinking about the cost. “Eat and drink,” he says to you, but his heart is not with you.

The corrupt mind of evil thoughts.

Matthew 5:27-28

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Do not commit adultery.’ But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.

The proud mind of self-esteem means we are full of conceit.

Romans 12:16

Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited.

The doubting mind “ unbelief “. Not to remember or believe Christ’s words is to stifle faith.

Luke 24:38

He said to them, “Why are you troubled, and why do doubts rise in your minds?

The worrying mind “ anxiety “. Worry never helps.

Luke 12:29

And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it.

The cumbered mind “ over-carefulness “. Burdened with care you will not reach your protential even with the Holy Spirits’ help.

Luke 10:40-42

But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!” “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

The selfish mind “ The need of more “.

Luke 12:17-21

He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’ “Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’ “But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ “This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God.”

The ambitious mind “ the need to be greater or have more than others “.

Luke 9:46-48

An argument started among the disciples as to which of them would be the greatest. Jesus, knowing their thoughts, took a little child and had him stand beside him. Then he said to them, “Whoever welcomes this little child in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me. For he who is least among you all — he is the greatest.”

evesadam

What did the Shadow use to say ” Who knows what lurks in the minds/hearts of men. ”

We need to change our minds first and then God changes our hearts.

Leave a Reply

